Programmes & Courses


EIFF 2013 is here and Screen Academy Scotland graduates, students and staff are out in force! See below for details of student and staff screenings & events.

Screenings of Student Films

Sat June 29th 12 pm We are delighted that Little Brother, a short psychological drama directed by Andrei Staruiala (MA Film), produced by Raluca Oros (MA Film) and written by Martin Kreuch (MA Screenwriting) has been selected for EIFF 2013 and will screen as part of the Creative Skillset Film Academies short film strand. All three are Edinburgh Napier graduates.

Little Brother

Sat June 22nd 12.00 Additionally Edinburgh Napier graduate Eva Riley’s (BA Photography & Film) short Joyride will screen as part of the Shorts: Not Another Teen Movie strand at EIFF:


Fri 28th June 20.45  & Sat 29th June 12.20 Edinburgh Napier acheter cialis france graduate Benjamin Kracun (BA (Hons) Photography and Film) was cinematographer on Paul Wright’s debut feature For Those in Peril which was favourably reviewed in the Guardian recently. The film was selected for the Critics Week at the Cannes Film Festival and is having its UK Premiere at EIFF 2013, where it is in competition for the Michael Powell Award. 

For Those in Peril

Sat June 22nd 15.30 SAS eca graduate Genevieve Bicknell’s (MFA Film Directing) film Swallow for Bridging The Gap which was edited by Edinburgh Napier graduate Nick Gibbon (BA Photography & Film), will also screen at EIFF 2013 in the Shorts: Bridging the Gap strand.  

Sat June 22 12.00 Also at EIFF 2013 in the Shorts: Suburban Light strand, will be fellow eca BA Film & TV graduate Anna Ewart’s short Endless Day which recently screened at the Sundance Film Festival.


Sat June 22nd 13.00 & Sat 29th June 18.15 A Story of Children and Film a documentary by Mark Cousins which was edited by SAS (eca and Edinburgh Napier) graduate Timo Langer (MFA Advanced Film Practice) will screen on the 22nd and the 29th of June:

June 28th 14.00 Screen Academy graduate and director of the Underwire Film Festival, Gemma Mitchell (MA SPD)  in conjunction with Imagem Creative Services, will host the industry event In Harmony, Matching Music to Pictures taking place on Fri 28th June.

Screen Academy Staff at EIFF 2013  

Sun June 23rd 15.20 & Sat June 29th 20.30 ECA lecturer David Cairn’s feature documentary Natan  the forgotten story of French filmmaker Bernard Natan is premiering at EIFF 2013.  On Sat June 22nd 21.20 & Wed June 26th 20.30 I am Breathing the heartbreaking (and also funny) portrayal of Neil Platt’s struggle with Motor Nuerone disease by ECA Programme Leader Emma Davie and eca lecturer Morag McKinnon  is also having its UK premier at EIFF this year. For dates and times please see links below:


I am Breathing

On Sat June 22nd Edinburgh Napier graduate and visiting lecturer in digital media Brian Baglow will take part in the industry event An Introduction to Interactivity which is presented in Partnership with Media and Hollow Earth Industries. Brian is also on the panel of the Masterclass in Digital Distribution session taking place on Tues June 25th 17.00

EIFF Talent Lab 2013

Five Screen Academy Scotland graduates will be participating in EIFF’s Talent Lab this year. The Talent Lab offers up-and-coming filmmakers a fantastic opportunity to learn form the world’s key film industry players. 

Talent Lab participants:

Writers: Adam Dewar, Ewen Glass, Gail Hackston, Mandy Lee (MFA Advanced Film Practice), Mark Robertson, Sharon Walker (MA Screenwriting)
Directors: David Lumsden, PJ Palmer
Writers/ Directors: James Alexandrou, Lucy Brydon, Mark Devenport, Silvia Felce, Zak Hanif (MFA Advanced Film Practice), Karen Hope, Philip Peel, Siri Rodness, Robert Samuels, Dan Smyth, Ian Waugh (MFA Advanced Film Practice)
Producers: Sarah Brocklehurst, Rosie Crerar, Rob Darnell, Emma Louise Dodds, Edward Hemming, Roxanne Holman, Jessica Levick, Lisa Mackintosh (MA SPD), James Pearcey, Ken Petrie, Kathy Speirs

Sound Lab participants
Bethan Parkes, Ross Buchanan (MA Sound Production), Adrianne Louise Calgie, Patrick Collins, Jonathan Crosbie (MA Sound Production), Michael John Cumming (current student MA Sound Production), Ugne Pikutyte, Simone Smith